All events

VIS goes Theatre

Calm & Culture Events

Event start time 5.12.2019 19:15

Event end time 5.12.2019 23:15

VIS Theater

Synopsis

The VIS will watch Faust I by Johann Wolfgang von Goethe in the Schauspielhaus Zurich! Faust was undeniably his magnus opus and remains a classic. Whether you had to read it for your german courses in high school or did so on a voluntarily basis, you surely will enjoy this play!

*Note: The play will be held in German, but there are many informations about it online. Try this link here from Wikipedia.

In the following, you can find the official synopsis from the Schauspielhaus:

This Faust has travelled far. It is one of the most important works of the two artistic directors of Schauspielhaus Zürich and was invited to the Berlin-based Theatertreffen festival in 2012. The magazine Theater Heute voted it production of the year, Benjamin von Blomberg was distinguished as dramaturge of the year, and Sebastian Rudolph was voted actor of the year. The jury for the 3sat prize at Theatertreffen explained their decision as follows: “Nobody has ever seen a production of Faust Ⅰ & Ⅱ like this one by Nicolas Stemann. His production itself is a Faustian event, a musing and exploration of what holds this drama together at the deepest level, and what it has to offer – for us today.” The fact that Faust appears as a contemporary today is unsettling, but this is the present that Goethe is talking about: a liberated society of radical individualists who are incapable of engaging in a community or collective forms of work. And the devil whispers in their years: be your own benchmark! This production, now enriched by a few extra years and experiences, will now be shown in Zurich at last in a new version at the Schauspielhaus.

Schedule

| Meeting time | 19.15 | | --- | --- | | Play starts | 19.30 | | End of Event | ca. 22:50 |

We'll meet in front of the Schauspielhaus Zurich (Pfauen), next to the museum of art. Please be there at 19.20 by the latest, afterwards we're going in and you will not be able to get your ticket from us!

Cost VIS members Cost non-VIS
5.0 10.0

Event organisers

Main event organiser Marcel Schmid

Co-organisers

Alle events

VIS goes Theater

Ruhige & Kultur Events

Startzeit 5.12.2019 19:15

Endzeit 5.12.2019 23:15

VIS Theater

Worum geht es?

Der VIS geht wieder ins Theater! Wir schauen Faust I von Johann Wolfgang von Goethe im Schauspielhaus Zürich. Faust I ist zweifellos das Magnus Opus von Goethe. Ob du es im Gymnasium lesen musstest oder dich freiwillig dazu entschieden hast -- sicherlich wirst du es nicht bereuen, eine Theateraufführung davon zu sehen!

Nachfolgend die Zusammenfassung des Schauspielhauses:

Dieser Faust ist weit gereist. Die Inszenierung zählt zu den wichtigsten Arbeiten der beiden Intendanten und wurde 2012 zum Berliner Theatertreffen eingeladen. Theater Heute wählt sie zur Inszenierung des Jahres, Benjamin von Blomberg wird als Dramaturg des Jahres ausgezeichnet und das neue Ensemblemitglied Sebastian Rudolph als Schauspieler des Jahres. In der Begründung der Jury für den 3sat-Preis des Theatertreffens steht: «So wie Nicolas Stemann Faust Ⅰ & Ⅱ inszeniert, hat man ihn noch nicht gesehen. Seine Inszenierung ist selbst ein faustisches Ereignis, ein Grübeln und Ergründen, was dieses Drama im Innersten zusammenhält, was es bereithält – für uns heute.» Dass Faust heute als Zeitgenosse anmutet, ist verstörend, aber es ist die Gegenwart, von der Goethe erzählt: eine durchbefreite Gesellschaft von Radikalindividualist*innen, unfähig zu Gemeinschaft und Arbeit an kollektivem Sinn. Und der Teufel flüstert in die Ohren: Sei dein eigener Massstab! Statt Erkenntnis gibt es Machtgewinn: Frauen, Natur und Kolonien werden gleichermaßen unterworfen und zerstört – die Zerrissenheit in der Brust dient dabei als Antrieb und Ausrede gleichermaßen.

Reicher um einige Jahre und Erfahrungen ist die Inszenierung nun endlich in einer für Zürich neu eingerichteten Version am Schauspielhaus zu sehen – und zwar sowohl als fast neunstündiger Marathon des gesamten Stückes (Faust Ⅰ & Ⅱ), als auch als Auskopplung nur des ersten Teils Faust Ⅰ.

Schedule

| Treffpunkt | 19.15 | | --- | --- | | Start der Vorführung | 19.30 | | Ende | ca. 22:50 |

Wir treffen uns vor dem Schauspielhaus Zürich (Pfauen), VIS-à-VIS von dem Kunsthaus. Bitte seid spätestens um 19.20 am Treffpunkt, sonst können wir euch eure Tickets nicht mehr geben!

Teilnahmegebühr (VIS) Teilnahmegebühr (non-VIS)
5.0 10.0

Event Organisatoren

Haupt-Organisator Marcel Schmid

Koorganisatoren